2018 Impression, Pattern and Trace Evidence Symposium

Date & Time

January 22nd – 25th, 2018


Renaissance Hotel
Arlington, VA

Event Information


View the Archives Here


Listen to IPTES podcasts



The IPTES was specifically designed to bring together practitioners and researchers to enhance information-sharing and promote collaboration among the impression, pattern, and trace evidence analysts, law enforcement, and legal communities.


NIJ and FTCoE are committed to improving the practice of forensic science and strengthening its impact through support of research and development, rigorous technology evaluation and adoption, effective knowledge transfer and education, and comprehensive dissemination of best practices and guidelines to agencies dedicated to combating crime. The future of forensic sciences and its contribution to the public and criminal justice community is a motivating topic to gather expertise in a forum to discuss, learn, and share ideas.


Funding for the 2018 Impression Pattern and Trace Evidence Symposium is provided through a cooperative agreement from the National Institute of Justice [2016-MU-BX-K110], Office of Justice Programs, US Department of Justice.

Steering Committee

Aaron Brudenell 
Arizona DPS

Alan Zheng
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Cary  Oien 
Department of Justice

Cedric Neumann
South Dakota State University

David Baldwin
Special Technologies Laboratory, DOE-NNSA

Derrick McClarin
Department of Justice

Gabe Watts
Department of Justice

John Morgan
United States Secret Service

Jeffery Dake
U.S. Army Criminal Investigation Command

Michael Gorn
Department of Justice

Steve Johnson
Ideal Innovations

Chris Taylor
U.S. Army Criminal Investigation Command

David Green
Lake County Crime Laboratory

David Stoney  
Stoney Forensic

Jose Almirall 
Florida International University

Vincent  Desiderio
U.S. Postal Inspection Service

Jeri Ropero-Miller
RTI International

Nicole Jones
RTI International

Planning Committee

National Institute of Justice

Greg Dutton
Kristin Pilgrim
Hannah Barcus

Heather Waltke
Jonathan McGrath

Research Triangle Institute

Jeri Ropero-Miller
Nicole Jones
John Morgan
Donia Slack
Erica Fornaro
Jeannine Bratts
Lauren Mangum

Josh Vickers
Lisa Malette
Vicki McCall
Tchad Compton
Erik Shepard
Julian Lee