Working Group on Data Exchange in Medicolegal Death Investigation

Working Group on Data Exchange in Medicolegal Death Investigation

Working Group on Data Exchange in Medicolegal Death Investigation

The National Institute of Justice and its Forensic Technology Center of Excellence convene the Working Group on Data Exchange in Medicolegal Death Investigation in collaboration with and supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). This working group is a diverse assembly of medicolegal death investigation professionals and ancillary professionals working to document and provide recommendations to enhance data exchange and collection in death investigation. This Medicolegal Death Investigation-Data Exchange-Working Group (MDI-Data-WG) gains insight from medical examiners, coroners, forensic investigators, epidemiologists, public health analysts, researchers, crime laboratory directors, law enforcement, federal agencies, toxicologists, and forensic pathologists acting as members, observers, and facilitators. Specific emphasis is placed on three subcommittees:

  • Commonly Exchanged Data for Death Investigations   
  • Drug Taxonomy  
  • Forensic Science Data Integration    

The goals of this working group are to 1) document the types of data that are commonly exchanged with public health and public safety partners and determine collective usage points, 2) provide suggestions on how to improve the naming process for emerging drugs, 3) guide the drug mapping/classification process, and 4) recommend needed enhancements to the operation of exchanging forensic data with other organizations. 

 Working Group Participants   

Aliese Alter *Matthew Gamette Marquis Johnson DeMia Pressley
Micaela Ascolese *Bruce Goldberger Kelly Keyes Prachi Mehta
Kate Brett Megan Grabenauer Alex Krotulski Jeri Ropero-Miller
Nichole Bynum Jason Graham Christine Mattson Frances Scott
Carri Cottengim Kathryn Haden-Pinneri Jonathan McGrath Lindsey Thomas
Laura Gould Emma Hall Danielle Mcleod-Henning Margaret Warner
Chris Delcher Christopher Harrison Lewis Nelson Agnes Winokur
Daniel Dye Bruce Houlihan Chantel Nijwaji Lucas Zarwell
*Brian Ehret Donna Iula Rebecca Noe
Erica Fornaro Linda Jackson Mallory O'Brian
John Fudenberg Robert Johnson Julie O'Donnell * Designates Subcommittee Chair


External Resources

Funding for this Forensic Technology Center of Excellence report was provided by the National Institute of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. This work was also supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Contract Number HHSM500201200008I, Task Order Number 200-2016-F-91567).

The opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this report are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the U.S. Department of Justice or the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Contact us at with any questions and subscribe to our newsletter for notifications.

Related Content

Forensic Fractography of Bone: A New Model for Skeletal Trauma Analysis

← Back to Webinar Series Page Wednesday, November 2, 2022 | 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM Eastern Duration: 1.5 hours Overview Fractography is a tool for studying material failure. Analysis of cracks and fractures can reveal information about how, why,…

Society of Forensic Anthropology Webinar Series

Overview The Society of Forensic Anthropologists (SOFA) is a non-profit organization comprised of active American Academy of Forensic Science members who are forensic anthropology practitioners. SOFA promotes communication and cooperation among forensic anthropologists and is committed to professional growth and…